top of page

4 Step Guide to Creating a Soulful Closet

Updated: May 7, 2020





Step 1: Self- Checklist


Begin by checking off each item on this list. If you find that some of the items in your closet fit more than one category, that's fine. The more versatile your closet, the more use your get out of each wear.


◯ Party Dress

◯ Dinner Date

◯ Formal

◯ Semi Formal

◯ Church

◯ Wedding

◯ Funeral

◯ Work (5-7 outfits)

◯ Personality Fits (Everyday wear)

◯ Pajamas


On a scale of 1-10, where do you rank each piece.


If it's under 5, think about why that might be and think about how you can redesign how it fits with accessories or how it can be worn a different way.


Do you have several similar pieces? Look at what you wear and what you don’t and start to ask yourself what it is that you like about these pieces or don’ t like about these pieces so that it can inform how you shop in the future.



Step 2: Values Assessment


What do you value?


How to do rank each wear?




Do these clothes align with the values you wrote?



What is your Style?



Circle all that Apply.




Step 3: Inspiration Log


This step is very simple. It's is all about list making.


  1. Brands you admire

  2. Brands you used to like

  3. Stores you shop at


Take a look at what you have. Do you notice any similarities? Are there any themes occurring in what you're purchasing?


You may be wondering why I asked you to make a list of the brands you used to like? Well there's a chance that those brands that may have some factors that influenced the brands you like today.


For example: When I was a little girl, I loved Lisa Frank. Now that I'm older I love Lilly Pulitzer. Both brands are bright, colorful, and positive.


Step 4: Style Board


This is my favorite step. It's also the last.


Grab as many magazines and catalogs as you can and start clipping away all the clothing inspiration you find. You don't necessarily need a board for this exercise, but you will need:


  • Glue

  • Scissors

  • Paper/Poster/Board

  • And Magazines and Catalogs of course!


For an example, here's mines!




Through all of these steps I had a better idea of what type of style I had, what I valued for my wardrobe, and how I want it to better address my needs. Hopefully by doing these exercises we can further extend the life of clothing.


7 views0 comments
bottom of page